Tags

,

melissa_bourbon_author_picAbout two weeks ago, my son, who’s in sixth grade, turned to me and said, “I can’t believe it. I’ve learned so much this year, mom. So. Much.”

I assumed he was talking about math class. His teacher has her PhD in math and is passionate about the subject. She’s intense, he thought she was a little scary at first because of that intensity, but now that class has become his favorite and he is even talking about what careers he can pursue with a math degree.

When I asked him if he was talking about math, he said, “Yes, in math, but in all my classes. Every day.”

9780451417213_medium_A_Seamless_MurderI knew exactly what he meant.  When I started writing (the Lola Cruz mystery series) about 12 years ago, I knew nothing about the publishing world. Since then, I’ve written 9 books in two mystery series, as well as 2 romantic suspense novels and a stand alone light paranormal romance. And I’ve learned so much during these years. There were days when I thought my head would explode with everything I had learned about the industry, about marketing books, about the craft of writing, about whatever subject I was researching for my books… I could go on and on.

Suffice it to say that publishing, like every other field of study, if full of nuance, secret rules, and best practices. I’ve been so fortunate to be part of this industry, but what I recently realized is that you can have too much of a good thing. I was getting burnt out. I needed to be involved in something outside of publishing to reenergize myself.

I used to teach middle and high school, and recently I decided I needed a change. I wanted to go back to education. I resigned from my publishing job and went back into the classroom. I’m teaching 7th grade English and Reading…and I feel energized in a way I haven’t felt in a while. The nuance, secret rules, and best practices are definitely present in teaching and the school setting, but I spend my days interacting with people who don’t have anything to do with books—other than reading to enjoy them. I interact with people who are full of personality. And I feel inspired again.

I’ve realized that I have to fill my creative well. I need to. And in order to fill that creative well, I have to experience a life filled with all kinds of people in all kinds of situations. I’m loving my new job, my renewed creativity, and my new energy.

How do you refill your creative well?

***

On another note, my mom, a masterful sewist, made a bunch of aprons for me as I wrote A Seamless Murder. They don’t all correspond to the book’s aprons, but a few are pretty close. And I’m giving some of them away via my newsletter! I’m so excited, because I know there are other apron lovers out there.

If you’re an apron-lover… or if you don’t know your personal thoughts about aprons but are curious to find out, join my newsletter and you can enter to win!

Happy reading!

Melissa

Sign up for my newsletter:

https://www.mynewsletterbuilder.com/tools/subscription.php?username=misaramirez

Visit my Website:

http://melissabourbon.com

 

Praise for A Magical Dressmaking Mystery series:

http://misaramirez.com/misas-books/a-magical-dressmaking-mystery-series/praise-for-a-magical-dressmaking-mystery-series/

Order A Seamless Murder Now!

Barmes & Noble

Amazon – Print

Amazon – Kindle

Visit Melissa at her website http://melissabourbon.com

Melissa on Twitter http://twitter.com/MelissaBourbon

Melissa on Facebook  http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMelissaBourbon.MisaRamirez

 

RT Book Reviews, 4 stars

“Bourbon has another great read to add to her list. The people of the town are quite an interesting bunch, including the ghost of Harlow’s meemaw, who helps her deal with the situations that she inevitably finds herself in. With a dash of magic thrown in, this series is a must-read for cozy mystery fans.”

About the Book:

With a needle and thread, Harlow Jane Cassidy is capable of magic. Her neighbors in Bliss, Texas, on the other hand, are capable of murder….

Any garment Harlow stitches together has the power to grant the deepest desire of whomever wears it. So when she’s asked to sew aprons for a local women’s group, Harlow must get to know each member. First up is Delta Lee Mobley, who doesn’t care much for Harlow’s family—or anyone else in Bliss, for that matter. Granting Delta’s greatest wish could only lead to trouble….

But trouble finds Delta all the same. The day after Harlow delivers her apron, Delta’s body is discovered in the cemetery. It seems one of the townsfolk harbored ill will toward one of their own. Harlow’s sleuthing skills are a cut above the rest, and with a few magical tricks up her sleeve, she is determined to cuff this killer once and for all.

 About the Author:

Melissa Bourbon, who sometimes answers to her Latina-by-marriage name Misa Ramirez, is a middle school teacher by day, and a writer by night. She lives lives in an inspiring century old house in North Texas and loves being surrounded by real-life history.  She fantasizes about spending summers writing in quaint, cozy locales, has a love/hate relationship with yoga and chocolate, is devoted to her family, and can’t believe she’s lucky enough to be living the life of her dreams.

She is the author of the Lola Cruz Mystery series, as well as A Magical Dressmaking Mystery series. She also has written two romantic suspense novels, a light paranormal romance, and is the co-author of The Tricked-out Toolbox, a practical marketing guide for authors.

 

