Tags

,

 

From Fry Another Day

The Biscuit Bowl Mysteries

By J.J. Cook

9780425263464_medium_Fry_Another_Day

I am so excited about being part of the Sweet Magnolia Food Truck Race! Food trucks from all over the South will be part of the race that will start in Charlotte, North Carolina and go to Columbia, South Carolina before winding its way to Atlanta, Georgia then to Birmingham and finally to my hometown, Mobile, Alabama.

At stake is thousands of dollars in cash and prizes for the drivers and their crews as they compete to see who has the best food, the best service, and great management.

There’s my food truck, The Biscuit Bowl. My specialty is deep fried biscuits with filled centers. There’s also Shut Up and Eat – famous for their loose meat sandwiches. Our Daily Bread from Jacksonville, Florida is run by a group of ministers who make the most heavenly bread. And there’s Reggie Johnson, owner of the Dog House. He’s from Mobile, too. He specializes in greasy hot dogs and sausages served with dirty hands!

We all have our reasons to win the race – and the $50,000 grand prize. Me? I want to open my own restaurant which is my longtime dream that I hope to accomplish by taking my food truck out each day.

The race is almost cancelled on the first day when a driver is murdered. Bad luck continues to plague us. But I have faith that my team is the best, and that we can win the race! Nothing says good Southern cooking like a fantastic biscuit, right?

I just wish the police would find another suspect besides Miguel, the man I hope to call my boyfriend sometime soon. I know him. He wouldn’t kill anyone. He’s only here with me for the race because I thought it would be a good place to find out if we really care about each other.

I’m not giving up on that yet either. I can’t be completely wrong about Miguel. I guess that means I’ll have to help the police find the real killer.

Between making biscuits.

 

About the authors:

J. J. Cook is a pseudonym for a married couple who write mysteries, mostly set in the South, with a touch of paranormal and romance.

Log on to Jim and Joyce Lavene’s website by clicking here.

J.J._Cook_Author_photo

