Tags

,

9780425270226I’ve been a proud human to many cats since I adopted my first one, Zee, in 1996.  Cats as any cat-human will tell you, are a force unto themselves.  I have noticed over the  years, though, that owning a cat is similar in many ways to raising a teenager (even though I do not have children, I was once a teenager myself, LOL).

Here are the top ten similarities between cats and teens I’ve noticed over the years:

  1. They both like to hide – conveniently: ever notice when you want a teen to do something, like daily chores, they make themselves conspicuously absent?  The same can be said of cats. I know that when the maintenance man comes into my apartment to do work, the only evidence that I even have a pet are the catnip mice scattered all over.  A cat can hide just about anywhere.  Sometimes it amazes me the places they can get into
  2. Computer love: Teenagers today spend most of their time on the computer, and trust me, that’s where my cats spend most of their day too. If I had a nickle for every piece of cat hair I’ve plucked out of my keyboard I could retire tomorrow.
  3. “I vant to be alone” – Teens require a great deal of “alone” time – as do cats. Don’t’ think that a cat will want to play a game of fetch with you like a dog, because you’re barking (or rather, meowing) up the wrong tree.  A cat will pay attention to you when he or she is darn good and ready to.  And unlike dogs, who thrive on attention, cats seem to shun it. The longer you leave them by themselves, the better they like you.
  4. Immovable objects – ask a teen to do something and they take their sweet time getting off the couch. Same with a cat.  Cats plop themselves in a spot and it usually takes nothing short of a bomb (or refilling the food bowl) to get them to move.
  5. Rip Van Winkle Syndrome – Teens like to sleep…a lot. Some till one in the afternoon if you’ll let them.  Cats like to sleep…a lot.  Usually all day if you let them.  And who argues with a cat?
  6. Evil Eye reflex – When you say something – doesn’t matter what it is – you usually get a blank stare from a teen. Same with a cat, only it’s a slitted stare that makes you feel like you’re on the witness stand and the cat is Perry Mason (or should I say PURRY Mason??????).
  7. Make me laugh – Do teens ever laugh at your jokes? The ones that I have contact with usually give me indulgent smiles. My cats are also super unamused by my humor as well.
  8. Lovin the John – I know when I was a teen I spent an inordinate amount of time in the bathroom, and I imagine it’s no different today. My cats also love the bathroom.  They especially like to lay in the tub and lounge there until I turn the shower on, and then it’s like I lit a fire under their tail.  They get hair in the sink like a teen and make no move to help unclog the drain, and just like a teen they also make no move to help clean it!!!!!!
  9. Needful Things: For the most part a teen will ignore you UNLESS they need something from you: a permission slip signed, borrow the car, new sneakers, prom dress, etc. THEN all of a sudden they’re your best friend and can’t wait to do all the chores in the world to assure they get what they want.  Cats also only care about your presence if they need something from you as well – mainly food.  My cats sound the food alarm early, and I never receive so many head butts as when I’m opening a can of Fancy Feast.  I’m fairly certain, though, that if they had opposable thumbs and knew how to operate a can opener I would find the door locked and they’d get on very well without me.  True story:  I came home from work one afternoon to find the can of catfood in the middle of the kitchen floor with the can opener propped up next to it.  I rest my case.
  10. Grudge Match: OH, yes.  Cats and teens both ABSOLUTELY hold grudges.  Put a teen on curfew and they don’t talk to you for weeks.  Go away on vacation and see how much love your cats give you when you return home.  The best is when you take them to the vet.  I’m lucky if I get as much as a headbutt or a casual meow for weeks afterward.

Okay, those are my top ten! What other similarities between cats and teens do YOU notice?

 

ll parents know that having a teenager can be a tricky thing. If you think about it, though, living with a cat is actually quite comparable to living with a teenager. So much sass. Here are just a few similarities between teenagers and cats.

  1. A teenager hides in her room all day, while a cat also hides … everywhere.

Flickr/Larry and Teddy Page (CC by 2.0)

  1. Both are creatures with a lot of pent-up angst.

Flickr/Jackie (CC by 2.0)

  1. Teenagers are always on the computer … and if cats had their way, they would be too.

Flickr/George Boyce (CC by 2.0)

  1. Both cats and teenagers just want to be left alone … almost always.

Flickr/mhx (CC by-sa 2.0)

  1. Neither cats nor teenagers ever usually feel like moving.

Flickr/Alisha Vargas (CC by 2.0)

  1. Both teenagers and cats like to sleep … a lot.

Flickr/Takashi Hososhima (CC by-sa 2.0)

  1. When you say something, instead of responding, both teens and cats will just stare at you …

Flickr/Tomi Tapio K (CC by-sa 2.0)

  1. Teenagers are super unamused by you, always. So are cats.

Flickr/Beverley Goodwin (CC by 2.0)

  1. Teens spend a lot of time in the bathroom, and cats do too … or they try to, at least.

Flickr/Jim (CC by-sa 2.0)

  1. Both cats and teenagers only really care about your presence if they need something from you.

Flickr/Christina (CC by 2.0)

  1. Both teenagers and cats will ABSOLUTELY hold grudges.

Flickr/Cracker93 (CC by 2.0)

  1. Really, cats and teenagers would all just rather be in bed.

Flickr/Tracey Adams (CC by 2.0)

 

Crime and Catnip

 

 

