Tags

,

 

9780451477453

If I had the option, I would move into Charming Books, the fictional bookstore in my Magical Bookshop Mystery Series, just like my sleuth Violet Waverly did at the end of Crime and Poetry. Who wouldn’t want to live in a magical bookshop where the books themselves give you the clues to solve the mysteries? I think it would be any reader’s dream, and authors are always readers first. One the best perks of being an author is that I can make up fantastical places that I would love to visit. So in a way, I made up Charming Books as much for myself as I did for my readers.

The same could be said for the entire village of Cascade Springs. When creating the village, I thought about everything that my readers would like to see there the most, so I added a mystical wood, a delightful French café, a vintage clothing store, and a town hall just like so many that can be found in quantity county seats across the country.

Other than Charming Books itself, my favorite location in the series is the mystical woods. Deep in the forest is Cascade Springs, the natural spring for which the village is named, and Violet my sleuth and caretaker of Charming Books has to visit that spring every other day to collect water for the birch tree that grows in the middle of Charming Books. It is through the water and the birch tree that the shop receives its magic. Much of Violet’s past is tied up in that woods, and she both dreads and loves her trips to the springs. She almost always goes at night because she doesn’t want to answer questions as to why she collects water from there.

Whenever I write a scene set in the woods, a hush falls over my own spirit. I feel the fear that Violet feels, wondering if she will be caught this time collecting water, and I experience the sense of wonder that she has as she enters that beautiful place.

If I had the option, I would move to Cascade Spring, live in Charming Books, and like Violet creep into the mystical woods to collect water for my birch tree. Since I don’t, I’m grateful that my readers have fallen in love with these places as much as I have, so that we both can visit them as often as we choose.

*****

Buy a mystery and help feed a community! Purchase any format of  her Prose and Cons book, between now and Tuesday, December 20, 2016, and Amanda will donate $1 for every book sold to The Landing, a food pantry located in Akron, Ohio. The Learned Owl is also making a $1 donation to the Landing for every copy the bookstore sells and is selling PERSONALIZED AND SIGNED copies on the novel. They can ship anywhere.

Learned Owl | Amazon | B&N | Books-A-Million | CBD

Amanda Flower, a national bestselling and Agatha Award winning mystery author. She also writes mysteries as USA Today bestselling author Isabella Alan. In addition to being an author, Amanda is a librarian in Northeast Ohio. Follow Amanda on Social Media at: Facebook Twitter Instagram

 

