Tags

,

Untitled-1

Let’s face it, dating is tough. I know I’m not the queen of bad dates, but I have had my share.

Like the guy who took me to a fast food place, paid with coupons, and stared at my tray like there was something he coveted. My coupon! I have no problem with saving money. But when he told me how he was avoiding payment of his personal property taxes, I was appalled. He took being frugal to an illegal level! Definitely not the guy for me.

A matchmaking event is going on in MISSION IMPAWSIBLE. It’s a little different because people are invited to bring their furry friends with them to help them make matches. Believe it or not, there’s a certain logic to that. How many times have you struck up a conversation with a total stranger because of his or her dog or cat? Animals help break the ice and give us something to talk about.

As I was writing, I began to wonder what attracts us to our mates. It turns out that it’s quite complex. The second we meet someone, all kinds of things start happening in our brains. Not only are we consciously assessing them, but our brains are taking in all kinds of information of which we’re not aware. For instance, we’re smelling them! The scents of potential mates are being processed by our brains.

Animal lovers have additional hurdles to cross. In a survey by Rover.com, 61% of respondents said they would end a relationship because of a pet. There’s no way I would give up one of my furry friends, so I understand that completely. A guy who didn’t love dogs and cats would be out of contention immediately!

And it gets worse. 45% of people spend more money on their pets than on their partners! We cat and dog people are truly devoted. But that’s not news to us, is it?

So maybe having a matchmaking event with dogs and cats isn’t such a bad idea. Not only can Fluffy and Fido assess potential partners (a few well placed hisses and growls, perhaps?) but their people would know they were meeting others who share their passion for their pets.

MISSION IMPAWSIBLE was in bookstores on February 7.  With a professional matchmaker and meddling mothers, you know there’s bound to be trouble!

BIO:

New York Times Bestselling author Krista Davis writes the Paws and Claws Mysteries set on fictional Wagtail Mountain, a resort where people vacation with their pets. Her 4th Paws and Claws Mystery is MISSION IMPAWSIBLE. Krista also writes the Domestic Diva Mysteries. Like her characters, Krista has a soft spot for cats, dogs, and sweets. She lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia with three dogs and two cats.

 

Her contacts:

kristadavis.com

www.facebook.com/KristaDavisAuthor

pinterest.com/kristadavisbook

mysteryloverskitchen.com

twitter.com/kristadavis

killercharacters.com

 

 

 

 

 

