Tags

,

 

_5300044

Learn more about Peg on her website: http://www.pegcochran.com

 

 

Gotta Write Network touched base with Peg Cochran when she had a free minute, which isn’t often. Read on and then visit her website to learn about what she’s up to!

Where do you get your ideas?

The truth is, I don’t know!  I start with the smallest grain of an idea and it snowballs from there and by the time I start writing the book, I’ve forgotten what part of it was the original spark for the story.  I do remember the spark for the Cranberry Cove series though—I had this sudden vision of a body floating up in a flooded cranberry bog and it took off from there.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Short answer:  no.  I don’t have to light a special candle or play special music.  As a matter of fact, I prefer no music at all.  I have a full-time day job and need to use whatever spare time I can scrounge up to meet my deadlines so I’ve learned to write whenever/wherever!

9780425274552What kind of research did you do for your Cranberry Cove series?

There is a cranberry farm in South Haven, Michigan, about an hour from us.  I was able to watch a harvest.  It was a beautiful day and the blue sky combined with the brilliant red of the cranberries made a gorgeous picture.  The owner was very helpful in answering my questions except for one.  He had no idea what to say when I asked him what they’d do if a body floated up when they flooded the bog!

Regular books or ebooks?

Both.  I prefer to read non-fiction in book format because I often skip around and don’t read chapters in order.  And if it’s a book on writing, I might want to reread bits or underline them.  Fiction I read almost exclusively on my Kindle because it’s easier for me to see—I can make the type bigger and my case has a built-in book light.  Of course I could put a brighter bulb in the lamp by the sofa where I like to sit (okay, lie down) and read!  That would probably help a lot.

What are you reading right now?

I’m about one third of the way through Behind Her Eyes (and will probably be finished by the time you read this) and I just finished The Girl Before.  And before that it was a woman’s fiction book Silver Girl.

