Tags

, ,

The French GirlTHE FRENCH GIRL

By Lexie Elliott

***
“A gripping mystery that delves into the past and the darker side of friendships…The French Girl is a fantastic debut about tangled relationships, shifting perceptions, and the memories– and people–that haunt us. I was completely captivated from beginning to end.” –Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls

***

How well do you know your closest friends? Do you trust them completely? And are you 100% certain none of your friends is capable of murder? These questions loom in Lexie Elliott’s debut novel THE FRENCH GIRL (Berkley Hardcover; February 20, 2018), a propulsive psychological suspense novel about a close-knit group of friends, an ill-fated vacation, and the shocking act of violence that haunts them years later. Think Big Little Lies meets I Know What You Did Last Summer.

Already generating buzz in the Penguin Random House offices and throughout the bookselling community, THE FRENCH GIRL is one of the most hotly anticipated novels in 2018! Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware’s The Lying Game and Tana French’s The Secret Place, THE FRENCH GIRL highlights the shifting dynamics and alliances within a group of friends over time, exploring how complicated and sinister these relationships become in the wake of a mysterious crime.

Six university students from Oxford: Kate Channing, her boyfriend Seb, and their four friends. They left London to spend a carefree week together at an idyllic French farmhouse – the perfect summer escape. But when Severine –the mysterious, strikingly beautiful French girl who lived next door — appeared, she exposed underlying tensions within the group. And then she disappeared.

Almost a decade later, Severine’s body is found in a well behind the farmhouse—and Kate and her friends are the primary suspects. Shifting alliances and unforeseen complications emerge as every member of this group—each hiding their own secrets—starts pointing fingers at one another and distancing themselves from the crime.

Lexie Elliott, an Oxford graduate herself with a doctorate in theoretical physics, drew on her experiences there as well as her memories of a post-university trip to a French farmhouse in her twenties to build the heavily atmospheric setting for this haunting novel. This unforgettable story has garnered international attention as film rights to THE FRENCH GIRL have already been secured by Character Seven, the company behind The Night Manager miniseries.

From the very first page, you will be mesmerized and haunted by Severine as Kate is in this one-sit read – and you’ll never look at your friends the same way again.

 

*****
New Reviews soon to be posted.
I’ve recently read the following books so expect reviews to follow shortly.
Denise Fleischer–Gotta Write Blogger
9780451473905
9780425282595  9780425281611   51yezZ6480L

 

Currently Reading:

9781101988589      225x225bb

Advertisements